csm & safe differences

The two prominent certifications in Agile space are

  1. Certified Scrum Master (CSM)
  2. SAFe Agilist Certification (Leading SAFe)

These certifications are well-recognized by the industry.

Let’s look at the certification courses from a few aspects – who can opt for it, where you can get trained, and what is the cost. Thus, with these certification courses, you can give a kick start to your career.

Certification Scrum Master (CSM)

Those who don’t have or have minimal idea of what is Agile and Scrum can opt for Certified Scrum Master course. Through this certification, one can understand the Scrum Framework thoroughly. This certification will help the professionals to know the value of Scrum and how to implement the Scrum framework. Here, in this certification course, you will learn about the teamwork, accountability and iterative process to achieve your sprint goal. Moreover, those who have completed this certification can play the role of a Scrum Master or a Scrum Team member. The role of Scrum Master is to improve the communication, to help in self-organizing, self-managing team members to achieve their goals.

Leading SAFe with SAFe Agilist (SA)

Scaled Agile Framework is created to solve the scaling agile issues, that cannot be sorted by Agile or Scrum. Scaled Agile Framework bridges the gap between all the teams inside a large program or solution, and it also improves communication between the teams, and improve the quality, predictability of the product. It focuses on releasing the product in a sustainably shortest lead time. This framework allows the complex organization to carry it out to bring change in the work culture right from the leadership team. Further, this helps in scaling up of a company, and a steep rise in the team’s productivity. Synchronization of alignments, collaboration, and delivery of multiple agile teams can be done by implementing SAFe Framework can lead you to the success of your organization.

Comparison between CSM and Leading SAFe with SAFe Agilist

Some basic difference between the two courses are as follows:

Certified Scrum Master (CSM)Leading SAFe with SAFe Agilist (SA)
Engineers with less experience in software development can attend this certification workshop.This is suitable for the leaders who drive the Lean-Agile transformation – for ex., managers, leaders, executives, program managers, project managers, etc.
CSM is all about the scrum framework, agile principles, roles, artifacts, values, iteration, planning and executing.SAFe is about understanding lean-agile thinking and implementation of the agility in large programs, building up of portfolio, and forming SAFe enterprise.
If you are a developer, tester, Scrum Master, Product Owner, Business Analyst, Team Leads, then CSM is fruitful for you.Those who can attend SAFe agile certification course are Architects, DevOps, Executive Leaders, Directors, VP’s and all the higher-ranking professionals, Process leads, Portfolio Manager, Product Owner, Product Managers, Program Consultant, Program Manager, Project Manager and many other
This framework is based on Agile values and principles and suitable for individual teams. Team members who build the product with 1 single team can attend CSM.

The SAFe framework is based on Lean & Agile values – the best of both worlds.

Those who are part of large programs and don’t know how to implement Agile in such programs can attend this workshop and learn.

Exam procedure of CSM: There will be multiple choice 50 questions and the time duration is 1 hour. The participant needs to score 37 out of 50 questions, to pass the exam.Exam procedure of SA: There will be 45 multi-choice questions and the time duration is 90 minutes. The participant needs to score 34 out of 45 questions, to pass the exam.
Certification fee : INR 24,999 per participantCertification fee: INR 50,000 per participant


If you check very carefully you will find that CSM is the basics that are required to understand SAFe. There are a few differences between the two, but both are required to create an Agile mindset. If you don’t have a good concept about Scrum, then you can’t grab the skills of SAFe. So, it is required to do CSM before doing the SAFe certification course. Leanwisdom has highly experienced and skilled trainers who will help you to enhance your skills.



You may also like

safe program consultant
SAFe Program Consultant: Everything you need to know about SPC certification
Scaled Agile Framework
Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) – Achieving Business Agility

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *