Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

PMP Certification Requirements & Eligibility – Detailed Overview

pmp certification requirements
The Project Management Professional (PMP) certification is the most important industry-recognized credential for project managers globally.

In this comprehensive guide, we will explore all the key PMP certification requirements you need to meet to obtain the certification in 2023.

PMP Certification Requirements – A detailed Overview

We will cover the following topics in detail:

– Benefits of PMP certification
– Overview of PMP Certification requirements
– Educational background requirements
– Project management experience requirements
– PMI’s Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct
– PMP exam details and eligibility
– Maintaining your PMP credential
– FAQs about PMP certification

Gaining an in-depth understanding of these requirements will help you evaluate your readiness for the PMP exam and certification process. Let’s get started.

Why Get PMP Certified?

Before diving into the specific certification requirements, it’s important to understand the invaluable benefits that come with becoming PMP-certified:

– Increased credibility and recognition as a seasoned project management professional
– Ability to showcase PMP after your name to stand out to employers
– Higher salary potential, often averaging 20% above non-certified peers
– Extensive global networking opportunities within the PMI community
– Enhanced project management skills and knowledge of best practices
– Improved confidence in leading high-performing project teams

In today’s project-oriented workplace, the PMP certification can give your resume a significant competitive edge and boost your earning ability.

Overview of PMP Certification Requirements

To obtain the PMP certification, you must meet educational requirements, and professional project management experience requirements, and agree to adhere to PMI’s Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct.

You must also pass the PMP exam based on the PMBOK Guide.

Let’s explore each PMP certification requirement and eligibility criteria in detail:

Educational Background Requirements

Depending on your highest educational degree attained, you must meet one of the following combinations of education and experience:

Bachelor’s degree or global equivalent:

– Minimum of 4,500 hours spent leading and directing projects
– 36 months of project management experience

Associate’s degree or global equivalent:

– Minimum of 7,500 hours spent leading and directing projects
– 60 months of project management experience

High school diploma, associate’s degree, or global equivalent:

– Minimum of 7,500 hours spent leading and directing projects
– 60 months of project management experience

The experience must have been accrued within the last eight consecutive years prior to your application.

Project Management Experience Requirements

For the professional experience requirement, PMI is very specific in defining project management experience.

You must have spent the minimum required hours “leading and directing project tasks”.

This means time spent on the five project management process groups defined in the PMBOK Guide:

– Initiating
– Planning
– Executing
– Monitoring and controlling
– Closing

Work on overlapping projects can be counted independently. Your experience must be verified by sponsors holding PMP certification or with personnel who can validate your roles.

PMI Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct

PMP credential holders must adhere to PMI’s ethical standards that outline professional conduct when carrying out project responsibilities.

The code covers honesty, responsibility, respect, fairness, and applicable laws/regulations.

You must renew your commitment to abide by the code during the PMP certification process and each time you renew your certification.

PMP Exam Details and Eligibility

Once your application is approved by PMI, you will be eligible to schedule the PMP exam within a one-year period.

The exam consists of 180 multiple-choice questions that assess your project management competence based on the PMBOK Guide.

You will have four hours to complete the exam at one of PMI’s approved test centers.

The exam questions are developed by project management experts and are designed to test you on real-world scenarios.

With proper preparation, you can pass the exam and become PMP-certified!

Maintaining Your PMP Credential

Once achieved, you need to renew your PMP certification every three years through PMI’s Continuing Certification Requirements program.

This requires earning 60 professional development units (PDUs) in project management topics over the three-year cycle.

You can earn PDUs through training courses, conferences, volunteer work, and other learning activities. This ensures you stay current on evolving PM best practices throughout your career.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

– What is the application and exam fee for PMP certification?

PMI membership costs $139 per year. The PMP exam fee is $405 for members and $555 for non-members.

– Can I take the PMP exam online?

No, the PMP exam is only offered at authorized test centers worldwide. It is a proctored paper-based or computer-based exam.

– How long is the PMP certification valid?

Your PMP certification is valid for 3 years. You must earn 60 PDUs during this cycle to renew it for another 3 years.

– How long should I study for the PMP exam?

Most professionals spend around 70-120 hours preparing for the exam over 3-6 months. You should thoroughly read the PMBOK Guide and take practice exams.


The PMP certification requires dedication and hard work.

However, the long-term benefits of becoming a PMP-certified project manager are invaluable for career advancement and salary potential.

Use this guide to fully understand PMP requirements and determine your eligibility. With thorough preparation, you can achieve the premier project management certification.

Please Fill in Your Details


Get upto 70% offer on Agile & Scrum Certifications