Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

How to become a SAFe Practice Consultant

how to become a SAFe Practice Consultant
Becoming a certified SAFe Program Consultant (now changed to SAFe Practice Consultant) is a significant achievement and requires a combination of foundational Agile knowledge, practical experience, and successful completion of the SPC training course and certification exam.

As organizations continue to embrace Agile practices to drive innovation, improve time-to-market, and enhance customer satisfaction, the role of SPCs remains crucial in supporting and enabling these transformations.

The Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) is a widely adopted framework for implementing Agile practices at an enterprise scale. It provides a structured approach to help organizations effectively adopt Agile principles, Lean thinking, and DevOps practices.

SAFe is designed to address the challenges that arise when multiple Agile teams collaborate on large and complex projects, allowing them to work together efficiently and deliver value faster.

Within the SAFe ecosystem, SAFe Program Consultants (SPCs) play a critical role. They are highly skilled professionals who have undergone rigorous training and certification to guide organizations through their SAFe transformations.

As SPCs, they possess a deep understanding of SAFe principles and practices and can apply them in various organizational contexts.

SPCs are instrumental in facilitating Agile Release Trains (ARTs) and guiding the adoption of SAFe practices across teams and business units.

They collaborate with leaders and teams to establish Lean-Agile principles, foster a culture of continuous improvement, and align the organization towards achieving its business objectives.

To become a SAFeĀ® Program Consultant (SPC), you need to follow these steps:

Gain Experience:
SAFe recommends that candidates have a substantial background in Agile, Lean, or other relevant methodologies.

Typically, several years of experience working in roles related to Lean-Agile transformation, Agile coaching, Scrum, Kanban, or project management are beneficial.

Complete Required Training:
Enroll in the SAFe Program Consultant (SPC) training course. This is a four-day course offered by Leanwisdom by our SPCT. The course covers in-depth knowledge of SAFe principles, practices, and implementation strategies.

Pass the Exam:
Upon completing the SPC training course, you will be eligible to take the SAFe Program Consultant (SPC) certification exam.

The exam assesses your understanding of SAFe concepts and your ability to apply them in real-world scenarios.

Pay the Annual Renewal Fee:
If you pass the exam and become a certified SPC, you will need to pay an annual renewal fee to maintain your certification.

This fee allows you to keep up with the latest developments in SAFe and ensures your certification remains valid.

Stay Engaged:
After becoming a certified SPC, staying engaged in the SAFe community and continuously updating your knowledge is essential.

Participate in conferences, webinars, and workshops related to SAFe to stay up-to-date with the latest best practices and developments in the framework.

Gain Practical Experience:
Apply your SAFe knowledge in real-world scenarios by working with organizations undergoing Agile transformations, guiding them through the process, and implementing SAFe practices effectively.