Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

What are the prerequisites for SAFe Agilist Certification in 2023

Prerequisites for safe agilist certification training
Obtaining a SAFe Agilist Certification is a valuable achievement in the field of Agile project management and development.

This certification validates your understanding of the Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) and your ability to apply its principles effectively.

To embark on this journey, it’s important to understand the prerequisites for SAFe Agilist Certification.

Prerequisites for SAFe Agilist Certification


  1. Agile Experience:
    A fundamental prerequisite for SAFe Agilist Certification is prior experience with Agile practices and methodologies. It’s recommended that candidates have a deep understanding of Agile principles, values, and practices, preferably gained through practical experience in Agile projects. This experience provides a solid foundation for comprehending and applying SAFe concepts.
  2. Familiarity with Scrum:
    Proficiency in Scrum is crucial as it forms the basis of many Agile practices within SAFe. Candidates should possess knowledge of Scrum roles, events, artifacts, and practices. Having worked in or with Scrum teams allows candidates to relate and build upon their existing Agile knowledge when learning SAFe.
  3. Basic Project Management Knowledge:
    While not mandatory, a basic understanding of project management principles can be advantageous. This familiarity helps candidates comprehend the overarching structure of SAFe, aligning Agile practices with larger project management goals.
  4. Educational Background:
    There are no strict educational prerequisites for SAFe Agilist Certification. However, a background in software development, IT, business management, or related fields can facilitate a deeper understanding of the concepts covered in the certification.
  5. Attending Leading SAFe Training:
    One of the key prerequisites for SAFe Agilist Certification is attending the “Leading SAFe” course offered by LeanWisdom or any other Training providers. This course covers the core principles of SAFe, its roles, practices, and ceremonies, as well as how to implement and scale Agile across an organization. The course acts as a comprehensive introduction to SAFe and provides candidates with the knowledge needed for the certification exam.
  6. Active Participation:
    Active participation in the “Leading SAFe” training is essential. This includes engaging in discussions, group activities, and exercises that help reinforce the understanding of SAFe concepts. Instructors often provide real-world examples and case studies to illustrate how SAFe is applied in different scenarios.
  7. Preparing for the Certification Exam:
    After completing the “Leading SAFe” course, candidates should prepare for the SAFe Agilist Certification exam. This involves revisiting course materials, taking practice exams, and familiarizing oneself with the exam format and content. The exam assesses your knowledge of SAFe principles, practices, roles, and responsibilities.

Also Read: SAFe Agilist Certification Cost

Earning the SAFe Agile Certification demonstrates your proficiency in implementing Agile practices at an enterprise scale using the Scaled Agile Framework.
By meeting the prerequisites, including Agile experience, familiarity with Scrum, and completing the “Leading SAFe” course, you set yourself up for success in obtaining this valuable certification and contributing effectively to Agile transformations within organizations.